Skip to content

Christmas Crafts with PlastiSpan

December 18, 2012

Plasti-Fabwritten by: Melissa Carruthers
Follow me on twitter @MelissaC_PFB

Christmas will be here  soon and I was thinking about making some crafts out of the random pieces of PlastiSpan insulation that I seemed to have accumulated over the year and make something festive. There are lots of different things you can make from PlastiSpan. In most crafts that require canvas, you can substitute PlastiSpan in place of the canvas. Today, I am making a Christmas Tree.

The supplies you will need:

  • PlastiSpan Insulation (If you don’t have any lying around, you can pick up some Plasti-Fab Handi-pac)
  • Tree template
  • Marker
  • Hot knife or serrated knife
  • Sanding paper
  • Acrylic paint
  • Tape
  • Glue
  • Paint brush
  • Batteries
  • Battery powered mini lights (optional)
  • Decorations
  • Gems
  • Paint on snow and glitter

 What to do: A step by step guide to making a Christmas Tree

I took a 2×2 sheet of PlastiSpan and got to work. I created a template of a Christmas Tree and taped it to the foam. I traced it out and began to cut, starting at the top. There are two methods to consider when doing this:

  1. Hot knife – you can purchase these online and at hobby shops
  2. Serrated blade – make sure you cut quickly

PlastiSPan Christmas Tree Step 1PlastiSpan Christmas Tree 02

I used a hot knife and then when the tree was cut out I sanded all the edges so they were flat. Now begin to paint chose a green, I picked Christmas green. It takes a few coats of paint to cover the PlastiSpan pieces.

plastispan-tree-03

I decided to add lights to the tree I was painting so I used the hot knife and made small holes to push the lights through. I purchased battery operated lights because the holes are smaller. After the lights were in I started to decorate

plastispan-tree-04plastispan-tree-05

I chose tinsel with sticky ornaments to attach to the foam. I had to use extra glue in some places. There were other items I looked at adding like Christmas balls and flat ornaments but I thought on this tree it was enough.

PlastiSpan Christmas Tree plastispan-tree-07

I also wanted to add snow to the branches but again my late start made this a difficult search. I have learned for next year that for sure. Hope you find this project fun, but make sure you plan in advance because it made finishing my tree a little bit more difficult.

final-plastispan-tree

I ran out of lights and all the Michaels are sold out so I will be shopping early next year to make sure I have them!

Share your crafts with us! Post some pics here of the crafts you have made using PlastiSpan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

