Skip to content

What to use for damp-proofing on my ICF foundation

February 25, 2013

Written By: Colin Showalter

A frequently asked question I get is, “what-to use for damp-proofing on my Advantage ICF foundation walls?”

Many types of damp-proofing products are suitable for use with the Advantage ICF system. From traditional spray on ones (water based) to the various types of wraps. We recommend the dimpled type of membranes as they provide damp-proofing, drainage and protection from back-fill. Below I will take you through the pros and cons for the 4 most common types.

Standard Spray On
Mineral colloid emulsifiers can be applied to the exterior face of the Advantage ICF system. Follow manufacturer instructions for application; however, it should be noted that liquid coatings will not bridge gaps between insulation panels, so vertical EPS (expanded polystyrene)  joints that are not butted tightly together must be filled before application. The specific product used must be recommended as compatible for use with EPS insulation.

Note: Do not apply highly solvent extended asphalt emulsions as they are not compatible with EPS insulation.

Roll-on
The Roll-on types of waterproofing are a rubberized liquid coating that is either rolled or sprayed on depending on the manufacturer. It usually comes in a bucket.  The pro to the roll-on membrane is that because it is liquid it easily rolls on and fills any of the gaps.

Note: Some of the roll-on systems cannot be installed in cold weather below a certain temperature. See manufacturer’s specifications to confirm.

Peal and Stick Membrane
These types of membranes are considered waterproofing. Several manufacturers of sheet type peel and stick membranes provide product intended for use with EPS insulation. Follow membrane manufacturers installation requirements, including application of a primer coat where necessary, to ensure best adhesion to the exterior face of the Advantage ICF system. Many contractors use this method in combination with a dimpled membrane to get a superior waterproofing and drainage plane.

Note: Some of the peel and stick systems cannot be installed in cold weather below a certain temperature. See manufacturer’s specifications to confirm.

Dimpled Membrane
Several types of dimpled sheet membranes, such as SUPERSEAL Dimpled Membrane, have been evaluated for use as damp-proofing materials by the Canadian Construction Materials Centre (CCMC).  Membrane manufacturer instructions for installation as a damp proofing membrane must be followed when installing on the Advantage ICF system. The pros to this type of system is that it is a stronger thicker plastic that both protects the EPS foam from back-fill and also creates a permanent drainage plane between the soil and the foundation wall. Regardless of the type of damp-proofing you choose the dimpled membrane offers protection to your choice.

Damp-proofing or waterproofing is required by most building codes. Using one of the above methods of damp proofing should help greatly increase the chances of keeping your basement dry and comfortable for years to come.

Note: Contact an Advantage ICF sales representative for recommendations on specific products available in your area. Find one now: http://www.advantageicf.com/about_advantage/wheretobuyadvantage.html 

Visit http://www.advantageicf.com for further information in damp-proofing and ICFs.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2013 5:53 am

    Like thanks

  2. April 13, 2013 9:22 pm

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital
    to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  3. April 17, 2013 2:13 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in truth used
    to be a entertainment account it. Glance complex to far delivered agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we be in contact?

  4. April 18, 2013 5:00 am

    This article provides clear idea designed for the new people of blogging, that really how to do blogging.

  5. April 21, 2013 2:23 am

    This article is genuinely a nice one it helps new
    net visitors, who are wishing for blogging.

  6. April 24, 2013 10:24 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite sure I’ll learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  7. April 27, 2013 11:46 am

    Ahaa, its nice dialogue regarding this paragraph here
    at this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  8. April 29, 2013 8:49 pm

    Hey there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

  9. May 1, 2013 6:39 am

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this site is actually nice.

  10. May 2, 2013 11:45 am

    Appreciation to my father who told me concerning this
    website, this weblog is genuinely amazing.

  11. May 2, 2013 12:06 pm

    Hey there! Quick question that’s completely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue.
    If you have any suggestions, please share. Thank you!

  12. May 7, 2013 4:02 pm

    Awesome things here. I’m very glad to peer your article. Thanks so much and I’m looking forward to
    contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  13. May 10, 2013 2:22 am

    I like it whenever people get together and share views.

    Great website, continue the good work!

  14. May 14, 2013 4:20 pm

    It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from this article as well as from our discussion made at this time.

  15. May 14, 2013 5:36 pm

    Good day I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was researching on
    Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  16. May 29, 2013 7:59 pm

    I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether
    this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  17. May 30, 2013 12:02 am

    I got this web site from my buddy who informed me on the topic of this website and now this time I
    am browsing this web site and reading very informative
    articles or reviews at this place.

  18. May 30, 2013 2:42 am

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a
    lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  19. June 13, 2013 1:52 pm

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is
    a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and
    return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll definitely return.

  20. June 15, 2013 4:30 am

    What’s up to every one, since I am genuinely eager of reading this blog’s post to be updated
    regularly. It consists of pleasant material.

  21. April 3, 2014 2:36 am

    I’m veery pleased to discover this site.
    I wanted to thank you for your time just for this fantgastic read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you book-marked to see new
    things in your web site.

Leave a Reply

